Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
68
"Fans of Barbara Kingsolver will love this stunning debut novel from a New York Times bestselling nature writer, about an unforgettable young woman determined to make her way in the wilds of North Carolina, and the two men that will break her isolation open. For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world. But while she could have lived in solitude forever, the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. Drawn to two young men from town, who are each intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new and startling world--until the unthinkable happens. In Where the Crawdads Sing, Owens juxtaposes an exquisite ode to the natural world against a heartbreaking coming of age story and a surprising murder investigation. Thought-provoking, wise, and deeply moving, Owens's debut novel reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018.
ISBN: 9780735219090
Characteristics: 370 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

This book has it all: mystery, survival, isolationism, classism, orphans, oh my gosh. I did not want it it end and I was truly surprised. Now I want to read the Cry of the Kalahari by this author and her husband, two naturalists/biologists.

This book has it all: mystery, survival, isolationism, classism, orphans, oh my gosh. I did not want it it end and I was truly surprised. Now I want to read the Cry of the Kalahari by this author and her husband, two naturalists/biologists.

July 16; August is Reader's Choice

July 16; August is Reader's Choice

Comment
mko123 Apr 29, 2019

I loved this book. You wont be disappointed.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
RosaReads2
Jun 11, 2019

Luxurious prose, a captivating protagonist, and an immersive setting drew me into this fantastic story. The moment I started reading, I was entranced by the perfect pacing and unique narrative. Where the Crawdads Sing will surely be one of my favorite books from this year.

d
DenisDesautels
Jun 07, 2019

I loved it! I recognize there are some opposing views but this book was entertaining and captivating. I was highly invested in the characters, the era and the southern culture. A very good read!

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Jun 05, 2019

Such a good book. Perfect for fans of Kingsolver. I hope this primarily non-fiction author writes more fiction!

c
cokie28
Jun 04, 2019

This is a somewhat compelling, competently written book telling a far-fetched story about a young, abandoned girl who survives in a dangerous marsh land who grows up to be a published and respected authority on the local biome. She has a small amount of help, but it doesn't take a village, which is largely hostile. There are oddities about the book: why is Asheville mentioned, as a destination, but not Charlotte or Greensboro? And why does Kya not reach puberty until 15? But overall I liked it, kept reading to the end, and recommend it.

g
GreenDog2006
May 31, 2019

There are a few holdouts here and on Amazon finding reasons to not give this 5 stars, but taken as a whole, it's just a remarkable book. The main character Kya is unique and unforgettable, the 1950s N. Carolina coastal marshland setting so vivid I feel like I've been there, and the mystery that gradually threatens Kya's life slithers in like a snake in the swamp. I couldn't put it down.

The writing is clear and direct - no dense, flowery prose from wildlife scientist author, just a soul-deep connection to a vanishing, underappreciated landscape. Sure, the plot can be a little strained at times and there are some unresolved questions, but none of that matters. There's a mystery, but it's not the heart of the book; there's a love story, but that's not the core, either. The novel is an homage to Kya, and glows with her fierce determination to learn and survive.

Where the Crawdads sing is so multi-layered, I'm already prepared to be disappointed in the movie Reese Witherspoon has in the works and all the detail it's bound to leave out.

Hillsboro_JenniFerg May 28, 2019

Quite impressive for a debut novel! Delia Owens writes beautifully, and like a seasoned novelist. I felt fully immersed in the alluring setting, and gripping plot, wanting to return to this book time and time again!

j
JILLYJELLY
May 28, 2019

I just thought this was "meh." The writing felt a little rudimentary to me: "oh Kya, oh Tate" Every sentence had them say each other's names--was she getting paid by the word? The story is good and I liked the ending but the stellar praise is a bit overdone in my opinion!

e
EmilyEm
May 25, 2019

On her own from a young age Kya Clark learns survival skills at her home in North Carolina’s coastal marshes. She’s mostly alone watched over by Jumpin’, a kindly marina owner, and Tate, her brother’s friend.

Wonderful sense of place. Kya’s coming of age as a naturalist beautifully told. Intriguing mystery. Can see why it’s so appealing to so many. A bit ambitious, forced. Somewhat typical for a first novel.

_McGeek_ May 22, 2019

Read this book in 24 hours which I haven't done in a very long time. So many great things happening here: the setting, the mystery, the knowledge of the land and nature, the characters, and of course a gripping story beautifully written. I'd highly recommend this one.

m
marywestcott_1
May 21, 2019

wonderful book Story about a young girl being left alone to survive for years alone. When two young men become intrigued , she opens up only to be hurt from both. Tate she has known since young, he taught her to read, but he left for college. Then she met Chase who wowed her by saying he would marry her, then became engaged to a local. Never had any intention of marring her. But convinced her to sleep with him. Tate came back and wanted her back. But Chase was found dead in the river. Kya was arrested and brought to trial. She was found not guilty because of an alibi that she was out of town. Tate and her did reunite and spent their days in the marsh where she updated her cabin with money that she received of her nature books. When she died, Tate found the necklace that Chase had wore, she had given her. She did kill him!!!!!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top